General KnowledgeGeography

Neighbouring Countries of India

Neighbouring Countries of India

· India is a vast country, India is located entirely in the northern hemisphere; specifically in the south-central part of the continent of Asia, the mainland extends between latitudes 8°4’N and 37°6’N and longitudes 68°7’E and 97°25’E, area of the world.

· A total of 9 countries share borders with India, of which 2 share sea borders and the other 7 land borders.


India – Its Geographic Features

· India is located in the southern part of Asia and has a land border of 15,106.7 km and a coastline of 7,516.6 km. It is situated in the Northern Hemisphere.

· India has a land boundary of about 15,200 km and the total length of the coastline of the mainland, including Andaman and Nicobar and Lakshadweep, is 7,516.6 km.

· In terms of population, India is the 2nd largest country in the world. In terms of area, India is the 7th largest country in the world.

India & Its Neighbouring Countries



Number of Neighbouring Countries


Length of Land Border

15,106.7 km


7,516.6 km


India’s Neighbouring Countries – Capital & State Borders

The table gives the list of neighbouring countries of India and their capitals along with the Indian states that shares the border with the country.

Neighbouring Country


The Indian State/UTs which share Border



Ladakh (PoK)



West Bengal, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Tripura and Assam



West Bengal, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh & Assam



Ladakh, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh



Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Mizoram and Manipur



Bihar, Uttarakhand, UP, Sikkim and West Bengal



Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Punjab, Rajasthan and Gujarat

Sri Lanka

Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte (Legislative Capital)

Columbo (Executive Capital)

It is separated from India by the Gulf of Mannar



It lies in the south-west part of India Ocean below the Lakshadweep Island.


Neighbouring Countries – A Brief Summary


· Border Length- 106 km

· Official Languages – Dari, Pashto

· Currency – Afghan Afghani

· States/ Provinces – 34 Provinces

· Located in Central Asia, Afghanistan has an area of about 6,52,230 sq. km.

· Afghanistan is a landlocked, multi-ethnic country in south-central Asia.

· It is situated along important trade routes between southern and eastern Asia to Europe and the Middle East.

·Major dependence of this country’s economy is on agriculture. The main industrial activities include manufacturing of cotton textiles, woven carpets, handicrafts and woollens.


· Border Line – 4096.7 Km

· Official Language – Bengali

· Currency – Bangladeshi Taka

· States/ Provinces – 8 Provinces

· India and Bangladesh share one of the longest borders (4,096 km) in the world and It covers an area of 1,43,998 sq. km and has a coastline of 580 km.

· This boundary has been determined under the Radcliffe Award which divided the erstwhile province of Bengal into two parts.

· Bangladesh is a country in South Asia that is situated in the Padma (Ganges) and Jamuna (Brahmaputra) river delta in the north-eastern region of the Indian subcontinent.

· Bangladesh, a riverine country known as the “Land of the Bengals,” is one of the world’s most densely inhabited countries.


· Border Line – 699 km

· Official Language – Dzongkha

· Currency – BhutaneseNgultrum

· States/ Provinces – 20 States

· Spread over an area of 38, 394 sq km, the population of this country follows Buddhism followed by Hinduism.

· There is a parliamentary form of Government in Bhutan, and the primary sources of the economy include Hydropower, agriculture, forestry and tourism.


· Border Line – 3488 km

· Official Language – Mandarin

· Currency – Chinese Yuan

· States/ Provinces – 26 Provinces

· The world’s most populated country, China, spreads over an area of about 95,96,960 sq km.

· The country is one of the world’s fastest-growing economies.

· This is the second longest border of India, next only to its border with Bangladesh.

· The Sino-Indian border is generally divided into three sectors namely – 

a) the Western sector

b) the Middle sector, and

c)  the Eastern sector.


· Border Line – 1643 km

· Official Language – Burmese

· Currency – Burmese Kyat

· Located in the western portion of mainland South Asia Myanmar and is spread over an area of 6,76,578 sq. km.

· The Union of Burma, which had been the nation’s official English name since 1885, was changed to the Union of Myanmar in 1989.

· This boundary runs roughly along the watershed between the Brahmaputra and Ayeyarwady (Irrawaddy).


· Border Line – 1751 km

· Official Language – Nepali

· Currency – Nepalese Rupee

· States/ Provinces – 7 Provinces

· Nepal is located to the northeast of India and extended over an area of 1,47,181 sq. km. It is a landlocked country bordered to the east, south, and west by India and to the north by China’s Tibet Autonomous Region.

· The world’s tallest peak, Mount Everest is located in Nepal. Also, eight of the tallest mountain peaks out of the 10 across the world, are located in Nepal.

· A major part of the economy is handled by tourism, and the Government is a federal parliamentary republic.

· The border is a porous one with the unrestricted movement of goods and people between Indian and Nepal.


· Border Line – 3323 km

· Official Language – Urdu

· Currency – Pakistani Rupee

· States/ Provinces – 4 Provinces

· A country which was initially a part of India was separated to form a new country, named Pakistan.

· This country spans over an area of 7,96,095 sq. km.

· The Indo-Pakistan boundary is the result of the partition of the country in 1947 under the Radcliffe award of which Sir Cyril Radcliffe was the chairman.

Sri Lanka

· Border Line – Sea Border

· Official Language – Sinhala, Tamil

· Currency – Sri Lankan Rupee

· States/ Provinces – 9 States

· One of the two countries which share Indian coastline, Sri Lanka is spread over an area of 65,610 sq. km.

· India and Sri Lanka are separated from each other by a narrow and shallow sea called Palk Strait.

· Dhanushkodi on the Tamil Nadu coast in India is only 32 km away from Talaimanar in the Jaffna peninsula in Sri Lanka. These two points are joined by a group of islets forming Adam’s Bridge.


· Border Line – Sea Border

· Official Language – Dhivehi

· Currency – Maldivian Rufiyaa

· States/ Provinces – 1 Only

· The island nation of Maldives is located to the south-west of India, in the Indian Ocean-Arabian sea area.

· Spread over an area of 298 sq. km only, Maldives comprises more than a thousand coral islands.

Interesting Facts

  • India has 15106.7 Km of land border running through 92 districts in 17 States and a coastline of 7516.6 Km [6100 km of mainland coastline + coastline of 1197 Indian islands] touching 13 States and Union Territories (UTs).
  • Barring Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Delhi, Haryana, and Telangana, all other States in the country have one or more international borders or a coastline and can be regarded as frontline States from the point of view of border management.
  • India’s longest border is with Bangladesh while the shortest border is with Afghanistan.
  • India has the third-largest international border in the world after China and Russia, and also the most sensitive border of the world that varies from extreme climatic conditions to infiltration.



So, this is all about the Neighbouring Countries of India. If you want to read more notes on Indian Geography – Click Here.


If you Like this Post than please share it with your friends and family and like our Facebook Page to get regular updates. Sharing is Caring J.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Check Also
Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker